top of page

Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

Our priority within the Foundation Stage is to provide a safe and happy environment for our children in which they feel loved. As a result the children’s learning will be maximised; they will access the many opportunities created for them through both outdoor and classroom based learning.

Our key principles for the delivery of the 7 areas of the EYFS curriculum (namely Communication and Language, Physical Development, Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design) are as follows:


  • Provide an inspiring, challenging, stimulating, safe, caring and sharing environment which is sensitive to the needs of every child.

  • Provide a broad, balanced, relevant and creative curriculum with good cross-curricular links that will set in place firm foundations for future learning and development in Key Stage 1 and beyond.

  • Provide opportunities for children to learn through planned, purposeful play, both indoors and out, in all areas of learning and development.

  • Ensure that there are opportunities for child-initiated play that is planned and carried out to enable choice and decision-making, fostering independence and self-confidence.

  • Use and value what each child can do, assessing their individual needs and helping each child to progress.

  • Provide opportunities for children to have ownership of what they are learning and have a direct impact on planning.

  • Work in partnership with parents/guardians, always encouraging and valuing their contributions.

  • Ensure that all children, irrespective of ethnicity, culture, religion, home language, family background, learning difficulties, disabilities, gender or ability, have the opportunity to experience a challenging and enjoyable programme of learning and development.


Click here to find out more about our EYFS curriculum...

bottom of page